h1

I contain multitudes….

April 22, 2011

“Do I contradict myself? Very well, then I contradict myself, I am large, I contain multitudes.” ~Walt Whitman

I was reading a blog tonight and was reminded of this quote. I would love to link but I don’t know how….Search “Enjoying the Small Things”

Anyway, this is one of my all time favorite quotes from Walt Whitman. Sometimes I forget. I forget that “in this blade of grass” that I am everything and everything is in me. An atom that you breathe, I also breathe. I have a multitude within me, including you, including Norah, including all the people that were once here but are now gone. Everyday, I get focused on work, the next thing I have to complete, the next thing I have to do for the kids, meeting their needs, meeting all needs of everyone who needs me – my husband, my kids, my friends, my students – everyone. Except sometimes, I forget to meet my own needs.

But I contain multitudes. I am a professor. I am a friend. I am a wife. I am a mother. I am a faculty member. I am a geologist. I am a sister. I have many titles. I enjoy many things. I’m pretty happy contridicting myself…

One comment

  1. I love the idea of containing a multitude – including my daughter.

    I often forget to meet my own needs too.



Leave a Reply

