h1

Blogging

February 6, 2011

I do not perform well at blogging. Initially I thought this would be a great place to put my thoughts and ideas about Norah and then I thought this would be a great place to store all the funny, strange, weird events that happen throughout the day. However, I have failed. I can not seem to find the time in the day and I forget that I even have a blog. What do I do all day long. The mornings are taken up with the craziness of getting everyone to school and to get myself out of the door. When I come in to work, I sometimes have enough time to check email but mostly I am preparing to teach which goes through about noon. 3 out of 5 days a week, the afternoon are taken up with meeting. The remaining two days are supposed to be research, however, many times I am “putting out fires”. I am not even connected most of the day. At home I have to pick up kids, make dinner, clean, get everyone ready for bed. Sometimes, I get some internet time when I am putting Tyson to sleep. I do read your blogs at that time but never have enough hands to respond — I have to login and with one hand in the dark, it is difficult. Then, it is time to do a load of dishes and laundry and head off to bed myself.

I barely have time to talk to my husband. I think it is better to talk to him than to blog, better for my marriage. I call him on the phone during the day, just to have time “alone” with him.

Now I am feeling guilty for letting the blog languish. There are many thing happening that I am trying to sort out….

my field schedule for the year, my commitments for research, all my responsiblities to the department and to my family and the most exciting development is that I earned a fellowship for the academic year of 2011-2012 at the University of Colorado, Boulder. So, I think we are going to be taking the entire family there for a year, unless the budget is too small, then we will only take them there for a semester. I have been searching for what to do on my sabbatical and I found it.

Oh, and another development, my university gave me an iPad so any kind of free time that I have, I’ve used the time to try and figure it out. I do not have a smart phone so everything is new to me. I’m supposed to use it to transform my teaching….any ideas?

Leave a comment