h1

Well, maybe not…

January 7, 2011

So, two posts ago, I was trying to talk myself into writing thank you notes to the people in my life to express my gratitude. I don’t think that is going to work out because of my own sloth. When I think about going to the store and shopping for cards, my stomach turns. I am not a shopper and on some level, I fear it. It wastes time and not an enjoyable activity. I usually keep a list and then go on a kamokazee shopping blitz to get what we need. I don’t browse. Maybe, to express my gratitude, I’ll pick one day out of the week to write a blog post about how much I am thankful for that person/thing. That may be more manageable.

Classes start on Wednesday but I am been furiously working since classes ended in the Fall. I sent out some fellowship applications for sabbatical, I completed a federal grant, a scheduled some research trips. The result being is that I’m not ready to begin the Spring semester and all of the responsibilities that go along with my faculty position. I am going to better at managing my time which means less internet time during the day and more active work. I do best when I set a timer in the morning to check email/internet sites and then close it all down for the rest of the day. That is my plan. The purpose is to use my time more effectively so my stress level does not rise to unmanageable levels. When I get stressed, I get sick. When I am sick, I don’t want to cook and am short with my kids/Coach. When I am sick, I need to lay flat on my back for at least 30 minutes to make the pain stop. When I lay down, nothing gets done. If nothing gets done, then I have to stay up later to finish it which leads to decreased sleeping time. My sleep time is already decreased with an 8 month old feeding all night long. Then I wake up sleepy, my productivity is decreased at work. When my productivity decreases, I get stressed. And the cycle starts over. The way to stop the cycle is to stop the stress and anxiety to begin with. I know why it happens. It is just not that easy to break the cycle.

What do you do when you are stressed?

2 comments

  1. Cry? I haven’t found a truly comfortable way to deal with stress since Emma died. Everything I do do (overeat etc.) is unhealthy and counter-productive so I’m looking for productive ways to manage stress too. Time limiting the internet seems a very good idea – I think this would help me too. I hope you do find. a way to relieve the tension.


  2. I eat chocolates, it’s bad.
    Doing yoga really helps. You have to find smth that will buoy you. Take good care. ((hugs))



Leave a Reply

