h1

Everyday Discussions

March 1, 2010

Yesterday I was making sure my 7 year old was buckled in her seatbelt after a nice day at the zoo. She said that she wanted to sit in the back of the van because she likes it there. No problem, let’s ask E. if he’ll switch. Of course, he did. As she was getting down I said, “After this little one is born, you’ll always have to be in back, there will not be a choice.”  She looked at me square in the eyes and said, “Mom, you can not be sure that this one will live.”  Ouch.

I told her that she was correct and that I could not guarantee it but that I hoped this one would live. “Me too” she says and skips around the car. The talk of dead and life are intertwined in our household. At dinner the topics range from how long people live, to how people die, to what makes us alive. The 7 year old likes to watch shows about doctors like emergency in the er and other Discovery Health programs. She will also watch Dr. G the medical examiner. Some kids react very sensitively to the death of their sibling. Whereas, my kids have taken a more practical approach — understanding life and death and the physical processes involved. I told my husband that we are going to have to get a well illustrated anatomy book soon because I don’t think my explanations are enough. Any suggestions?

3 comments

  1. Ouch is right. **sigh**

    Don’t laugh – but during my short time in nursing school at KSU – I did purchase an anatomy coloring book. Kid you not. And yes – it helped me greatly with my classes. Very detailed. You can get it at Amazon…. or – silly me – maybe even at the book store on campus.

    ((((HUGS)))) Wishing I could make you that guarantee. Just know I’m sending strength and prayers. ((((HUGS))))


  2. After I think about it – my book recommendation might not be age appropriate…. but she sounds like a smart cookie that won’t let you get away with something “toned down”. And a warning – they do have a pregnancy section…


  3. yeah, ouch. i hate that they have had to experience death at such a young age, but good for her, for exploring the topic and learning all she can.



Leave a Reply

