h1

Minutia

August 7, 2009

Last night I was standing in front of the sink preparing to brush my teeth. We currently don’t have a tube a toothpaste, just a plastic bottle. With a tube of toothpaste, you can squeeze and some will come to the top (this is not a discussion on whether your significant other squeezes in the center of the tube making you always squeeze at the bottom to get toothpaste out; Dh does this all of the time). However, with these plastic bottles you have to turn it update down and give it a thump because the mixture is viscous, kind of like getting ketchup or mustard out of the bottle. Instead of thumping it, because a toothbrush is always in my other hand, I just give it shake. You know the kind of shake I’m talking out. Imagine…ketchup stuck up in a bottle and you have to shake it to get it out. In order to harness acceleration on the outer part of an arc, I give the bottle of whing. This involves opening the top, holding it upright, and very quickly turning it so the opening faces downward. This usually forces the toothpaste to the top so I can squeeze some out.

Last night, I opened the top of the toothpaste and gave it a whing, watched some toothpaste go flying out of the opened top, squeezed some on my toothbrush, and brushed my teeth. Afterwards, I investigated where the toothpaste had been flung. I turned my head to the left (toothbrush is always in my left, bottle of toothpaste being whinged is always in my right) and saw a wall that was absolutely covered in white spots in various stages of splatter. At first, I thought it must be DH’s shaving cream. Upon further investigation, I found that it was toothpaste…..from me….whinging the bottle night after night and being too tired to realize I was throwing toothpaste everywhere.

Like blood splatter analysis, I conducted analysis on the toothpaste splatter. You can determine the angle and trajectory of each whing of the toothpaste bottle. Yep, definitely from me, can’t blame DH on this one. I have been so busy over the past months (?, I don’t know how long this has gone on) that I don’t even realize I’m doing it and then I run off to go do my next task. Now, I could dwell on the fact that I would know about this mess if I ever cleaned the bathroom; however, no dwelling here. DH cleans the bathrooms, not me. I hate that task so he does it. Obviously, it hasn’t been done in a while.

I thought for a moment about how to get the white toothpaste off of the mint green walls (color was there when we moved in). But I didn’t give it too much thought because I realized I was in the middle of doing the dishes. I rushed off to complete that task. My toothpaste splattered wall is still there. Someday, I am going to have enough time to clean it.

How do you get dried toothpaste off of a painted wall? Does a magic eraser work for that also?

Leave a Reply

