h1

STTN

March 13, 2009

I think I’m interested in acronyms now. I don’t text and have struggled to learn the shorthand people use when posting on chat boards and blogs. While reading a blog yesterday, I learned that I am sooo 2002. The comment was something to the effect of “discussion boards are so 2002” and that blogs are the new way of communication. So, I’m 7 years behind….I think that is pretty good considering I just got a cellphone two years ago (reminder: renew cell phone plan) and I still can’t program in a name or number …. thanks dear husband. 

I still use adobe illustrator 10 when apparently there is a creative suite 3 or something like that. I’m always behind the times. I’m comfortable with the technology that I am using at the time. I don’t overachieve and live on the cutting edge of technology. As can be witnessed in this blog where I can barely figure out how to post.

What was I writing about? Oh, acronyms. I’ve noticed a new one STTN — sleeping through the night. Is your son/daughter STTN? I couldn’t figure it out for a long time….it is a disease, a number you are supposed to have, a shot that I didn’t get for my kid?  Nope. Just sleeping through the night. Which is a crazy concept because STTN is considered to be 6 hours for infants. Who can function for an extended period of time on 6 hours?  I did it for about 10 years but can only do it about one night now before I collapse in exhaustion. Yes, my little one is STTN (at least a 6 hour stretch at the beginning sleep time at night).

And while I’m at it, lets discuss OOTO. I recently got this one in an email. First, I thought, “What the heck is OOTO”. I thought for about 10 minutes before placing into context and figuring it must mean Out Of The Office. Now, I like to use it in everyday speaking to my colleagues because of the way it sounds.

What is your favorite acronym?

One comment

  1. DH and I get a kick out of saying WTF and OMG to each other–not saying the whole words, only the acronym.



Leave a Reply

