h1

Dad

March 1, 2009

My Dad died 18.5 years ago to Lung Cancer. He battled hard but did not win. We were relatively untouched by death for a decade. Various aunts and uncles died but no one too close. My Grandpa and DH’s Grandma died in 2002.  In May of 2007, DH’s Grandpa died. That was tough for him. I was pregnant with Norah. Then Norah died in Nov. 2007 and DH’s Dad had a stroke in Dec. and then my Mom died in April, 2008. Wow, that was a tough year. Tomorrow is my Dad’s Birthday. He would have been 77 years old. He always told us growing up that his birthday was a national holiday.

So, HAPPY BIRTHDAY DADDY. I have to call to President and let him know (A-rock Obama). Call the banks and post office. I have a lot of work to do before tomorrow. Or, I could just sit here and think about my Dad and the gifts he gave me.

1) Work ethic – he was the hardest working person I have ever known, with lots of mouths to feed at home

2) humor – our family is bonded by humor and mostly because of the long drawn out stories he told

3) charity – give as much as you can to friends and family and if you can’t give money, give time and skills

4) the need for reflection – Dad used to write in a journal every night and think about what needed to be done. I never disturbed him during this time but remember him sitting in his room in a rocking chair.

I know he brought more to my life but the above points are the highlights. After 18.5 years I can see clearly what he brought to me. I hope in 16 years, I’ll understand the past two years a little better.

Leave a Reply

